PBS Professor T Complete First Season on DVD

Jasper Tempest is a Professor of Criminology at Cambridge University. He is obsessed with cleanliness, structure and order, but his genius for solving crimes means he is constantly having to get his hands dirty, helping the police to crack their most difficult cases.

Every aspect of Professor Jasper Tempest’s life is precisely calibrated and rigidly structured. Impeccably dressed and meticulously punctual, he lectures daily at the Cambridge Institute of Criminology, teaching students imaginatively, if pedantically, about the science of crime. And each evening, he returns home to his apartment, which is as sterile and systematically ordered as a science lab. Thanks to this strictly regimented approach, his OCD and germaphobia are under control.

But Professor T’s buttoned-down world is slowly undone when he is persuaded by one of his former students, Detective Sergeant Lisa Donckers, to assist her in investigating a serial rapist. The Professor’s encyclopedic knowledge of criminal psychology and his brilliant mind prove invaluable to the team, but the cracks in his carefully constructed emotionless exterior begin to show.

Working with the police –and the fiery, instinctive Lisa, in particular –drags Professor T far from his comfort zone and even forces him to confront his suppressed feelings for an old flame. He also finds it increasingly difficult to escape the influence of his imperious mother, with whom he shares a harrowing family secret that has cast a long shadow over both their lives.

Episode 1: Anatomy of a Memory
Professor T is persuaded by a former student, now a police detective, to help her investigate a serial rapist. When he discovers his mother, Adelaide, is trying to sell his long-abandoned family home, T makes a momentous decision.

Episode 2: A Fish Called Walter
When a librarian is poisoned at a cocktail reception at the Museum, Professor T is called upon to help narrow down the list of possible suspects. Not everyone on the police team is happy with Professor T’s involvement in the investigation.

Episode 3: Tiger Tiger
Professor T becomes embroiled in a hostage situation, but his unconventional negotiating tactics do not go over well with the police. His old flame, Detective Chief Inspector Christina Brand, reveals all is not well with her marriage.

Episode 4: Mother Love
Professor T is called upon to help investigate the disappearance of a six-year-old girl. Tensions rise between DI Paul Rabbit and Professor T, until they finally come to blows.

Episode 5: Sophie Knows
Professor T befriends a vulnerable girl and is convinced she is the key witness to a murder. Dan and Lisa agree to go on a date but when her boss confronts her about their inappropriate relationship, Lisa makes a bold decision.

Episode 6: The Dutiful Child
When an attempt is made on a billionaire businessman’s life, Professor T suspects the culprit may be much closer to home than the police suspect. It’s Professor T’s birthday and with it comes a haunting childhood memory.

Buy it Now


This post may contain affiliate links. Read my full Disclosure Policy

Speak Your Mind